Voting begins today! 2015 Lawrence W. O’Toole Leadership Award

September 8, 2015

The Nellie Mae Education Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the Foundation’s 2015 Lawrence W. O’Toole Leadership Award. Named in honor of Nellie Mae’s founding president and CEO, the annual award grants $100,000 to a school, community organization, or district to continue the advancement of student-centered learning approaches for all students.

“This year’s O’Toole Award nominees exemplify what it means to put students at the center of their education,” said Nick Donohue, President & CEO of the Nellie Mae Education Foundation. “Our nominees represent an incredible array of creative and innovative approaches to learning that serve to engage and empower students for success. I am delighted to extend my utmost congratulations and I look forward to seeing who among our deserving nominees wins this grant for the students they tirelessly serve.”

The O’Toole Award was established in 2011 to honor O’Toole and his success in laying the groundwork and establishing the Foundation in 1998. In 1999, an acquisition by Sallie Mae enabled the creation of what is now the Nellie Mae Education Foundation. To date, the Nellie Mae Education has awarded $300,000 in Larry O’Toole grants.

Each state in New England is represented by one nominee. You can learn more about each candidate by visiting the voting platform, hosted on the Hub: (

The public has the chance to vote for the award winner online beginning today until Wednesday, September 30th at 12:00 pm.

You Might Also Be Interested In

Skip to content